Governing Board

ISM is established as a non-profit private company registered in Tanzania. The School is independently managed by a Governing Board who consist of members selected by the founding shareholders of the School and two members elected by the Parents Association.


In 1969 The Good Samaritan Foundation (GSF) was in the process of consolidating the establishment of a teaching hospital in Moshi known as the Kilimanjaro Christian Medical Centre (KCMC). In order to serve the needs of expatriate families working with the hospital and other expatriates in northern Tanzania, GSF joined with the Evangelical Lutheran Church in Tanzania and in America, the United Evangelical Mission in Germany and the Baptist Mission to establish an international school in Moshi. These five organisations are the school’s shareholders. The Arusha Campus was established as a day school in 1987 to provide an education for the growing number of families in the fast-expanding town of Arusha, 80km to the west of Moshi. Both campuses now serve Tanzanian and expatriate families living in both Tanzania and elsewhere.


  • Good Samaritan Foundation (6 shares)
  • Evangelical Lutheran Church of Tanzania
  • Evangelical Lutheran Church of America
  • United Evangelical Mission
  • Baptist Mission


The Board, which carries out its work on a voluntary basis, meets approximately four times a year to establish policy for the organisation, management and future direction of the school. The Board also appoints the School Director and approves all financial expenditure as well as monitoring the work of the Director and administration. ISM is an independent, not-for-profit organisation.
Communication with the school is normally through the school Director and should be addressed to


    • Mrs. Tine Hemelings (Chair)
    • Mrs. Monique Janmaat (Vice-Chair)
    • Mr. Marius Jacobs (Treasurer)
    • Mr. William Kivuyo
    • Mrs. Rachelly Mboya
    • Mrs. Hilda Mungure
    • Dr. Kilonso
    • Dr. Sigara

Elected by the Parent Association:

  • Mr. Mark Blackett
  • Mr. Marco van Zwetselaar

The Director, Finance Manager and both Heads of Campus also attend Board meetings as non-voting members.
Board meetings are also attended by staff representatives.